Reviews of A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird

Reviews of An Sithean Press books, posted by readers around the world, with the most recent at the top.

From amazon.co.uk on November 5th, 2017

★★★★Really good read!

Reviewed by Lyndie100 [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

Really good read, had the kindle version but then bought all the books! Looking forward to reading them to my Grandchildren.

From amazon.co.uk on November 1st, 2017

★★★★★A fluffy review for a fluffy bird

Reviewed by Grumpy1954

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

Bought for two granddaughters and signed by Algy. Youngest granddaughter has nearly finished the third book and loves the stories. I read them myself and also love them. The author is not afraid to introduce ‘hard’ words to extend the young reader’s vocabulary and her different poetry styles are lovely. The setting is delightful, especially if you know the West coast of Scotland.

From amazon.co.uk on October 30th, 2017

★★★★★Great for children

Reviewed by Vicky S

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

I was very lucky to be given a copy of this book and I have finally managed to get round to reading it.

Although it's written for children, adults can also enjoy it,either reading by themselves or with a child. The story is a simple story which makes it easy to understand but is written in a way to make it interesting and the story keeps flowing. The reader wants to know how Algy the bird will get on from floating in the sea and making it to land.

There are particular things that I like about this book. I like the fact that it has repetition of the sound of the sea so children can join in and this helps with their speech and language and also the song and long poem that is in it. I don't think there is much exposure to long poems at this age like there used to be and it reminded me of when I was young and read The Jumblies and Hiawatha etc.

All in all a good read.

From amazon.co.uk on October 8th, 2017

★★★★★Fluffy is the new awesome!

Reviewed by Amanda S.

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

From start to finish this book is a wonderful read for both young and old.

The main character Algy becomes a close friend and you are desperate to find out what happens to him on his exciting adventure.

The writing encapsulates you and the magical way of writing helps you identify the other wildlife and helps transports you to the this new world, making you not just the reader but part of the story.

I would give this book 1000 stars and recommend it to everyone, please start your reading journey with Algy today as I can't wait to find out what he gets up to next.

Algy is a surprisingly fluffy bird with a big heart and an amazing skill for singing songs. He has become more than a character on paper he has become a real friend.

From amazon.com on October 7th, 2017

★★★★★A surprisingly pleasant read. Recommended for adults ages 7 to 10.

Reviewed by BiostatProf [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

A surprisingly pleasant read. I know Algy slightly through Tumblr. He's a friendly and quite fluffy bird who is often introducing me and others on tumblr to poetry, weather, language and pictures of Scotland. I've enjoyed the tumblr pictures and mini stories, so this book length treatment was much fun. I had no trouble reading the book, and no trouble picking it up again when I had put it down. I look forward to having a grandchild or two or three to read this story to.

From amazon.com on December 14th, 2016

★★★★★Wonderful read

Reviewed by Wickedtruth81 [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

I first started following the adventures of Algy on Tumblr. I am very happy to see his story told. This is a very enjoyable read. I can't wait to read it to my little Zoe as she grows up.

From amazon.co.uk on March 1st, 2016

★★★★★'Can't you tell me if it has a happy ending? ' An intriguing adventure.

Reviewed by Amazon Customer [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

In this first book of Algy's adventures, Jenny Chapman showcases her evoking writing style, bringing to life the characters and Scottish scenery with a story that has managed to capture the hearts of children and adults alike. I read this book to my after-school group of children ranging from ages 7 to 9, and it was successful in keeping this usually rowdy group quiet and engaged. We had pleas of, 'Can we read one more page before home time?' and spoiler requests of, 'Can't you tell me if it has a happy ending?' The adventure intrigued the children, often keeping them on the edge of their seats and prompting them to think about what might happen next. In my opinion, a wonderfully entertaining book for girls and boys of all ages.

From amazon.co.uk on February 1st, 2016

★★★★★Best west coast kid's book. Can't wait for the next book. Domhnall Aonghas Colthart, aged 12

Reviewed by ms fiona m m hutchison

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, hardback edition

This book is about a fluffy bird lost at sea and how he survives.

He meets funny friends along the way when he is washed up on a new land

It's a lovely book with lots of really good pictures at the front of the book and at the start of the chapters. I really enjoyed this book, I loved the rhymes, especially the one about the author at the back, she lives in Scotland's Wild West, beside...

I really liked the imagery that her descriptive writing evokes. And I am really looking forward to the next book, the tree with a golden heart, it looks cool.

From amazon.co.uk on December 4th, 2015

★★★★★A beautiful book

Reviewed by TomT

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, hardback edition

Our family have really enjoyed following Algy on his perilous journey. The story is layered in a way that engages younger readers while still providing depth and interest for older ones. The coastal setting and animals Algy meets are beautifully illustrated in watercolour. Recommended!

From amazon.co.uk on November 29th, 2015

★★★★★A joy to read

Reviewed by WildlifeDancer [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

A lovely book with beautiful illustrations. Jenny Chapman uses words cleverly to paint pictures in your imagination whether you know the west coast of Scotland and its wildlife or not. A book to be enjoyed by people of all ages, especially when read aloud. Looking forward to the next one and I will continue to follow Algy's Adventures on Tumblr.