Reviews of A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird

Reviews of An Sithean Press books, posted by readers around the world, with the most recent at the top.

From amazon.com on October 11th, 2015

★★★★★Great book.

Reviewed by matthew [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

Easy read and lovely drawings. I look forward t reading more of Algy's adventures.

From amazon.co.jp on October 11th, 2015

★★★★★Algyとても可愛いです。

Reviewed by Winterman [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

英語の勉強もしたっかたので、自分が最後まで読みたいと思う本を探していました。 Algyの冒険はとても楽しいので、英語の勉強がしたい方は是非どうぞ!! オススメです。

From amazon.co.uk on October 10th, 2015

★★★★★A good read

Reviewed by frontrow

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

A charming beautifully written book that leaves you with a 'feel good'' feeling

From amazon.co.uk on October 6th, 2015

★★★★★An enchanting tale

Reviewed by michael stephenson [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

A beautifully written and exquisitely illustrated tale of a fluffy bird washed out to sea in tropical climes who after a perilous voyage is cast ashore in a strange land remarkably reminiscent of the western highlands of Scotland.

The characters he meets, both friendly and otherwise, are beautifully portrayed, and the climax is both moving and amusing.

Thoroughly recommended to anyone from six to sixty and beyond.

From amazon.com on September 27th, 2015

★★★★★I hope to read many more of Algy's adventures in the future!

Reviewed by Edie Sinclair

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

It really is such a delightful book! I feel like it's something I would have loved to have read when I was younger. Animals on adventures and such. (I was a huge fan of the Redwall books by Brian Jacques.) The book is very well written and imaginative. It tells a good story and is easy enough to read for a young audience while not being too simple in the language. And the illustrations at the beginning of each chapter are lovely, too! The online dictionary is a great resource as well. It is very clear that a lot of love went into the book! I will be giving it to my younger sister, who is nine, to read. Even at twenty, I thoroughly enjoyed the book!

I have been following the Adventures of Algy Tumblr page for a while and I would highly suggest it to the older internet-using crowd. It's very nice getting to virtually explore Scotland by way of a fluffy bird. :) The posts are often accompanied by original or quoted poetry. It's awesome to see how a wonderful Tumblr blog has turned into so much more! I can't wait for more books about Algy's Adventures to come!

From amazon.co.uk on September 27th, 2015

★★★★★A big hit in our house!

Reviewed by Amazon Customer [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

Bought this book for my seven year old Granddaughter. We were fortunate enough to meet Jenny who was really kind and took time to answer questions. Once home the question was did the book come up to expectations? According to my granddaughter it exceeded them, rocketing to the heady heights of the best book she has ever read. It was difficult to elicit her favourite bit as there seemed to be so many! It was "exciting and funny" "scary in bits" in fact had everything any good read should have - verdict? "when is the next one coming out Jenny?"

Definitely a big hit in our household.

From amazon.de on September 27th, 2015

★★★★★I read this book and love it!

Reviewed by min-ute-s [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

Ein liebevoll geschriebenes Buch. Algy lernt eine ihm neue Welt kennen und muss sich den damit verbundenen Herausforderungen stellen. Jenny Chapman beschreibt all dies auf eine wunderbare Art und Weise. Man kann sich gut in die entsprechenden Situationen hineinversetzen. Jennys gelungene Lautmalerei trägt dazu bei. Leider gibt es das Buch bis jetzt nur in Englisch (Ich hoffe auf eine baldige Übersetzung ins Deutsche.) Wer einige Jahre Englisch in der Schule hatte, versteht aber die englische Version. Mein Fazit: Read it and love it!

From amazon.co.uk on September 26th, 2015

★★★★★A Bird For All Seasons

Reviewed by chris

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

Tales of travellers shipwrecked on alien shores are as old as literature and actually have an uncomfortable contemporary ring. And whether or not we travel the seas such tales explore the hopes and fears of us all, because life is a journey of discovery.

This is one reason why the story of Algy, lost at sea and washed up in a strange land is so appealing, and not just for children. Algy experiences friendship and hostility, encouragement and indifference as he explores his unfamiliar surroundings. And he meets all with courage, resourcefulness and hope, which finally lead to a happy ending. Algy also composes a pretty good ballad (contrast the well intentioned but absurd poetic efforts of Plog the frog).

Another reason to read this book is that it is charming, beautifully produced with delightful illustrations.

From amazon.co.uk on September 25th, 2015

★★★★★I enjoyed reading this as much as my son enjoyed listening

Reviewed by Nick

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

I read this story to my son Gabriel at bedtimes. A lovely tale of a lost bird being washed up in a strange land. I enjoyed reading this as much as my son enjoyed listening ! It`s very well written and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone with young children. Good to see the Lark is still ascending !!

From amazon.co.uk on September 25th, 2015

★★★★★The best book ever!

Reviewed by The Wifie

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

This book is perfect for a wide variety of ages. It is a book which I just cannot put down. It is about a bird that is lost at sea and can't find his way back home. Instead he ended up on an island. I think that this book is a great success. There are a couple of things I don't like in the book. The first thing is that the description of the waves is a bit too long and the second thing is that it would of been good if the book was longer.