Reviews of A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird

Reviews of An Sithean Press books, posted by readers around the world, with the most recent at the top.

From amazon.ca on September 5th, 2015

★★★★★5 stars!!

Reviewed by Kara

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

This book is SO MUCH FUN!

Algy is such an adventurous and cheeky, fluffy little thing! He totally has a wonderful personality of his own and has many stories, poems and adventures to share with readers of ALL ages. I enjoyed it reading alone to myself and reading aloud to my little sister. 5 stars here from us!!

From amazon.co.uk on September 5th, 2015

★★★★★highly recommended!

Reviewed by D PAYNE

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

My daughter and I read this book together and we both loved it.

It is well written and suitable for both boys and girls, as it has adventure and little animal friends.

We both can't wait for the next book which I believe is coming soon, we also enjoy following Algy on his very own website.

From amazon.com on August 24th, 2015

★★★★★Even old folks will love it ..

Reviewed by John [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

i also have been following Algy adventures on Tumblr and was extremely happy with the book .. i am in my 70's and really enjoyed his adventure and poetry .. i am a avid reader of thrillers and adventure type books and this kept my attention and wondering how he was going to survive his ordeal .. i loved it .. looking forward to more of Algy adventures .. no kidding! ..

From amazon.com on August 17th, 2015

★★★★★A classic adventure for kids of all ages

Reviewed by amy [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

I have enjoyed Algy's adventures online since 2013, so I was thrilled to read the first book of his adventures. A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird is action packed, but never too scary to share with kids. I especially like the charming illustrations, and the quirky characters Algy meets along the way. Algy is a plucky, ever-fluffy hero, and I look forward to the next book of his adventures.

From amazon.de on August 14th, 2015

★★★★★Algys Abenteuer nun endlich auch als Buch

Reviewed by Amazon Customer [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

Ein wunderbares, fantasievolles und liebevoll gestaltetes Kinderbuch mit sehr viel Herz und durchaus einigen flauschigen Überraschungen. Als langjähriger Fan von Algys Abenteuern auf Algys Blog [...] bin ich mehr als begeistert, Algy nun auch bei mir tragen zu können. Ja, ich bin ein End-30iger. Na und? Definitiv nicht nur für Kinder.

From amazon.co.uk on August 13th, 2015

★★★★★A brilliant read for any age

Reviewed by Jane Hilborne [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

A brilliant read for any age! Lovely illustrations and excellent descriptions. What an adventurous journey for a delightful little bird!

From amazon.co.uk on August 12th, 2015

★★★★★I want there to be more!!

Reviewed by S. MacKinnon

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

'A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird’ is a lovely book, full of sense, sad at times and touching also. And it's really, really well written, but far too short! I wanted there to be more in it and I am looking forward to the other Adventures of Algy.

I read the book because I like reading books about animals and toys, and I was given a copy of it to review. I liked the cover and the pictures.

The book is funny at times, touching and a wee bitty sad. I felt happy and glad for Algy. I found it funny when his spiky hair brushed the roof of the sand cave.

I liked the way Jenny Chapman describes the sea and the pounding, crashing kind of rhythm. I also like the way the animals can talk to one another.

It is unique, though it reminds me of Charlotte’s Web where there is strife and happy endings. If you read this book and write a review, you will probably say that it is absolutely wonderful and life-like.

I would like to shake wings with Algy and congratulate him for his bravery, sense and good humour. He is a never-giving-up, fluffy bird.

(Miss M, 10 yrs )

From amazon.com on August 12th, 2015

★★★★... fluffy but the real surprising thig is how much fun his tales are to read

Reviewed by Yvonne Bouwhuis

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, hardback edition

Algy might be fluffy but the real surprising thig is how much fun his tales are to read. Author Jenny Chapman fills her book with so many great sounds and sights and that kids and adults alike with love reading along with all the characters Algy meets during his adventures. The way sounds are visualized is a lot of fun and one of my favourite things about this book.

From amazon.co.jp on August 9th, 2015

★★★★★音読で楽しんで。

Reviewed by tuftie [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

子供向けにシンプルな文章とリズミカルな言葉で書かれた、もふもふ鳥アルジーの冒険譚。英語の勉強が苦手だった大人が子どもに読んでやるにはまさにうってつけ。少し大きい子なら、大人と交代で読みっこするにも良さそう。まずはひと通り声に出して読んで、webサイトも参考にしながら、アルジーの世界に浸ってください。日本人にはもひとつ馴染みの薄いスコットランドの、さらにあまり耳にする機会がないハイランド地方の自然や動植物の描写も興味深いです。

[Unfortunately, Algy does not read Japanese, but he managed to contact the reviewer in Japan, who very kindly provided this translation into English:
“Even if you had been terrible at English class at school, don’t worry. In this book, the author doesn’t use complicted grammar and when you read aloud to your little child you’ll find yourself enjoying the very rhythmical words. Bigger kids, reading each other with the help of Algy’s web site, will get excited about the story. And the descriptions of nature will arouse your interest in Scottish Highlands (not so familiar for Japanese people).”]

From amazon.com on August 1st, 2015

★★★★★Sweet, funny, and inspires creativity. What more can you ask from Algy?

Reviewed by watching TV is my job

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

This is an engaging, fun read, the kind of book you can read to a young child and start conversations about the imaginary world it inspires us all to create, because we want to travel it with Algy. It also made this old man want more Adventures of Algy, because I enjoyed this first one so much.