Reviews of A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird

Reviews of An Sithean Press books, posted by readers around the world, with the most recent at the top.

From amazon.com on July 30th, 2015

★★★★★Charming Adventures -- Whimsical and Appealing!

Reviewed by Nimbus Cat [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, hardback edition

A delightful story of a lost bird named Algy. There's just enough uncertainty and adventure in each chapter to keep a young reader wanting to know "what happens next" without being overly frightening or upsetting for very young readers. Algy is whimsical and unusual and doesn't seem to fit in right away with his new surroundings -- appealing to that part in all of us, young and old, that feels left out and searches for a place to call home. There's twists and turns and an ending that isn't overly saccharine, but genuinely happy and charming. Wonderfully Illustrated!

From amazon.co.uk on July 29th, 2015

★★★★★A lovely book

Reviewed by eager reader [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, hardback edition

This describes Algy's journey and the various creatures he encounters from first arrival in a beautiful but unfamiliar land. He has difficulties at first, but eventually the story reaches a happy conclusion with Algy surrounded by friends in his new home.

Wonderfully evocative descriptions of the west highland scenery and wildlife.

Algy is a very warm hearted fluffy bird. Everybody will like his story and be eager to see his next adventure.

From amazon.com on July 28th, 2015

★★★★A Non-Surprisingly Good Read!

Reviewed by "7020" [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, hardback edition

We have been following The Adventures of Algy on tumblr for a while and were excited to hear that Algy finally made the leap to publishing.

The book is a well written adventure that my daughter enjoyed very much, the only criticism of this effort is that there is some difficult vocabulary (mostly Scottish in origin) that my daughter became frustrated with, though, to be fair, she might be a little under the target age and very much an American. Never-the-less we enjoyed reading it very much and look forward to future installments!

(She does offer an online vocabulary helper at www.adventuresofalgy.com and you can see Algy’s day to day adventures at http://www.adventuresofalgy.com)

From amazon.co.uk on July 28th, 2015

★★★★★I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!

Reviewed by rachel gibbons

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, hardback edition

FABULOUS !!!!!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT !!! (Thomas 10 yrs old)

From amazon.de on July 28th, 2015

★★★★★Ein erfreulich flauschige Geschichte

Reviewed by Heiko Mülfarth [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

A surprisingly Fluffy Bird ist eine wunderbare, spannende Geschichte über einen Vogel, der auf See die Orientierung verliert und auf einem ihm fremden Land strandet. Dort lernt Algy viele neue Leute kennen, die ihm nicht immer alle wohl gesonnen sind. An diesem neunen Ort findet Algy seine letztlich neue Freunde und eine für ihn sehr reizvolle Aufgabe.

Das Buch gibt es derzeit (leider) nur auf Englisch, aber e gibt online eine Hilfe, um die schwierigen Wörter zu verstehen. Das Buch ist spannend und hat wundervolle Ideen und Umsetzungen. Es ist gedacht für Kinder ab 7 aber auch für ältere sehr reizvoll, so dass auch 10jährige und ältere ihr Englisch daran üben und verbessern können.

Auch für Erwachsene hat das Buch seinen Reiz und zeigt, dass man nicht immer mit dem Kopf durch doe Wand muss und auch mal seitwärts schauen sollte.

From amazon.co.uk on July 26th, 2015

★★★★★Delightful children's book

Reviewed by Mellygregs [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

I downloaded this book to read to my five year old as a bedtime story and it didn't disappoint.

The story is about a lost fluffy little bird called Algy and his quest to find out where he is and how to get home, making new friends with funny and interesting characters along the way as his adventure unfolds.

My rough and tumble boy who loves his teddy bears was delighted by this story and for the first time every wanted to go up to bed every night to hear another chapter of Algy's story. My boy wanted to give the book 100 starts, but had to settle with 5!

As an adult reading this book, I found it well written with lovely descriptions of the mystery island Algy is lost on.

We hope there is another adventure to follow this.

From amazon.co.uk on July 22nd, 2015

★★★★★I read it myself and it is a fantastic read, I myself,

Reviewed by Roni Lewis [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, hardback edition

I bought 2 copies of this for my nieces and nephews, aged 2-8. I read it myself and it is a fantastic read, I myself, would have thoroughly enjoyed this as a child.

Algy meets lots of characters through this story, and it ends differently to what you expect. Fabulous illustrations, and the hardback version would look beautiful on any childs book shelf.

I'm looking forward to more future adventures of this bird. :)

From amazon.co.uk on July 15th, 2015

★★★★★A great new book

Reviewed by Tortoise [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

Here's a new book for children; perfect for the holidays. It is exciting, a little bit frightening, funny and finally happy. There is a splendid illustration at the beginning of each chapter, depicting what is happening or indicating what is coming next. And at the end the reader wants to know when the next book in the series will be published.

From amazon.com on July 14th, 2015

★★★★★Gorgeous :)

Reviewed by Bartosz [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, kindle ebook edition

No matter if you're 7 or 77 you'll find something for yourself in that story, whether it'll just be a simple joy or a cosy haven in your stormy life, that fluffy bird can will brighten your day.

From amazon.co.uk on July 13th, 2015

★★★★Fans of Algy from his online adventures will be delighted

Reviewed by Flyingfish [verified purchase]

A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird, paperback edition

Fans of Algy from his online adventures (http://adventuresofalgy.com) will be delighted that his assistant has launched this first in a series of children's books about Algy's life and experiences. Jenny Chapman is a fine storyteller and a consummate artist. The wonderful illustrations bring Algy to life in a whole new way, and tell of a set of adventures previously unknown to his online fans. Each illustration creates a new atmosphere for the next part of the story (the one of Algy washed up on the beach is heartbreaking!) and the pictures and language together evoke the landscape and seascape of Algy's surroundings beautifully, whether for readers who are already familiar with them or for those who have never seen them before. The online dictionary is a great idea, both for fun and for those who want a little help. This is a lovely book for both children and adults, either as something to enjoy alone or as a read-aloud. I read it from start to finish in one go! And if you really want a treat for someone as a present, get them the hardback. It's beautifully bound with a real cloth binding and gorgeous matt paper slipcover. It feels wonderful to hold and to turn the pages, and the quality of the illustrations is fabulous.