Reviews of The Magical Midwinter Star

Reviews of An Sithean Press books, posted by readers around the world, with the most recent at the top.

From on November 28th, 2017

★★★★★A great book for the winter months, be it Christmas or the Solstice.

Reviewed by Grumpy1954

The Magical Midwinter Star, paperback edition

Hard to improve on the previous two, but my granddaughter (8) thinks this is the best so far and I agree. The books don't fall into the trap of stories about cute little animals, but instead combine nature, mythology, adventure and fun with a smattering of Gaelic thrown in. Can't wait for book 4

From on April 6th, 2017

★★★★★these books just keep getting better, favourite book so far

Reviewed by D Payne [verified purchase]

The Magical Midwinter Star, kindle ebook edition

Wow!! these books just keep getting better, favourite book so far, can't wait for the next one. Just love the new characters. A Magical ending enjoyed together by a 9years old and her Mum. You can't be too young or too old to enjoy the Algy series.

From on March 27th, 2017

★★★★Cheery Winter Story (review by M, aged 11)

Reviewed by S. MacKinnon [verified purchase]

The Magical Midwinter Star, kindle ebook edition

I like ‘The Magical Midwinter Star’ because it’s about animals cheering themselves up during one of the bleakest parts of the year, when everyone is tired of snow and just wants Spring to hurry up and come. Algy goes off to search for a magical tree that he can decorate with some silvery things that he finds in rockpool. He hope it will help the animals to feel that winter isn’t all that boring.

I’m giving this book four stars because I think it’s better than the second, but not as good as the first (the first book in every series is always the best). I prefer this book to the second because it’s less ‘magical and mysterious’ and more about how animals might live (though it does have the Magical Midwinter Star).

If I had to be a character in the book I would want to be the Stag. He looks and and is described as very honourable. As I am not a boy I would want to be the mate of the Stag because I would feel proud have such an honourable mate. Jenny Chapmen was very wise to add the Stag in. In her next book, it would be nice for the Stag to play an important, honourable part (with his mate, of course).

I can’t really choose a best bit of the story, because it is a genuinely nice story and is written really well. I liked the bit though when the Stag appears, because, as mentioned above, he is so very composed and calm.

I definitely recommend this book to children, and adults young at heart. It’s lovely how Jenny Chapmen writes about how animals might live.

I’m looking forward to Jenny’s next book. I hope she will write one about Spring, or something cheery (not that the other books were un-cheery).

From on March 19th, 2017

★★★★★The words, the scenery, and the lovable characters win the hearts of children and this adult!

Reviewed by Amazon Customer [verified purchase]

The Magical Midwinter Star, paperback edition

Centred around an exciting midwinter celebration, the third of Algy's adventures takes us on another fun journey. We get to catch up with old friends and meet new ones, each with their own brilliantly written personalities. Although you don't have to read the first two books in the series to follow this one, they're such wonderful stories that you should read them anyway. I've had the pleasure of sharing these books with my own child and a classroom of children, and they've opened up the door to discuss friendship and the importance of doing things for others. These subtle messages are interwoven with the adventure, and taught through characters that are brought to life by vivid descriptions and well-written dialogue. As my 9 year old said: "All of the characters are my favourite because they wouldn't be who they are if they didn't know each other. I wonder who we'll meet in the next book."

From on March 17th, 2017

★★★★★My 8 year old son loved the tale of Algy's search for the perfect tree

Reviewed by Nick

The Magical Midwinter Star, paperback edition

Jenny Chapman has done it again !! What a cracking, lovely and magical story. My 8 year old son loved the tale of Algy`s search for the perfect tree. Jenny`s characterisation of animals and description of landscapes are a joy to behold. The reader is totally transported into Algy`s new world.This episode in Algy`s adventures centres around a search for the right tree in the right clearing on the right night for a hootenanny. He meets new friends and endures terrible hardships along the way to fulfill his goal , his endurance is amazing ! Beautifully written by a wonderfully descriptive author , we are looking forward to Algy`s next adventure. Thankyou !!

From on January 15th, 2017

★★★★★My 7 year old son loved this story

Reviewed by Mellygregs [verified purchase]

The Magical Midwinter Star, kindle ebook edition

My 7 year old son loved this story.

This is the third book in the series and my boy has really enjoyed following the adventures of Algy the fluffy bird and his friends.

This is a book that adults can enjoy too as they read to their child (as I did!).

The story involves Algy making friends with new endearing characters who help him along the way to set up a mid winter celebration for all Algys animal friends on the island.

I started reading this book with my boy the day before Christmas Eve, but I wish I had started reading it a bit before then, as it would be a great story to read and finish by Christmas Day as the story centres around that time of year and will make you feel all Christmassy!

From on December 31st, 2016

★★★★★A book to be read again and again.

Reviewed by Fishtail [verified purchase]

The Magical Midwinter Star, kindle ebook edition

This book is the third in the series The Adventures of Algy and is a worthy successor to A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird and The Tree With a Golden Heart. It tells how Algy, who had immured himself in his nest against the cold and mist of a West highland winter, is persuaded by his friend to set forth in a new adventure, during which he meets many friends, old and new, and some frightening enemies. His journey is full of perils and excitements, culminating in a glorious finale. Beautifully written and marvellously evocative of the West highland winter landscape, this is a book to be treasured and read again and again.

From on December 24th, 2016

★★★★★A seasonal treat

Reviewed by Christopher Tookey

The Magical Midwinter Star, paperback edition

Those familiar with the previous two books about Algy’s adventures will need no encouragement to obtain and read this one. But if you haven’t yet been introduced to Algy and his friends you can start from here and catch up later. In fact with its midwinter theme this book would be a very good place to start. Along with Algy – a unique character – we are in these books introduced to a wide variety of creatures. And like the wild country in which they live they are beautifully observed and described by their creator from her own obvious appreciation of her wild surroundings. To help you feel welcomed to this wonderful world there is a four-page explanation of Scottish and Gaelic words, which will also help with pronunciation if you are reading it out loud.

And then there are the pictures, also by the author. They are lovely. And one particular subtlety to look out for on pages 87 – 90. No I’m not going to reveal it but don’t think you have spilt your whisky.

From on December 20th, 2016

★★★★★A truly magical book

Reviewed by Tortoise

The Magical Midwinter Star, paperback edition

From a cold, damp start in a thick Scotch mist, the story builds steadily, until it reaches the gloriously happy ending. It brings together old friends and new, exciting happenings and wonderful surprises so skilfully that I think it is the best Algy book yet, and will appeal to all ages from 5 to 95.