Reviews of The Tree With A Golden Heart

Reviews of An Sithean Press books, posted by readers around the world, with the most recent at the top.

From amazon.co.uk on November 28th, 2017

★★★★★Algy is a star

Reviewed by Grumpy1954

The Tree With A Golden Heart, paperback edition

Second book about Algy read avidly by my 8 year old granddaughter, followed by me and now her grandfather! The characters are delightful and the descriptions of the scenery take us back to that wonderful part of Scotland. A book to appeal to all ages, to read quietly or aloud.

From amazon.co.uk on March 2nd, 2017

★★★★★Simply Enchanting

Reviewed by AndyT [verified purchase]

The Tree With A Golden Heart, kindle ebook edition

Another enchanting tale of Algy and Highland animal friends. This time Algy is on a mission to help save his friend, plog the frog, who is suffering from the mysterious bog fever. A tale of friendship, fellowship and Highland adventure. Algy meets several new animal characters along the way, and he's obviously a very wise fluffy bird, knowing when to keep a safe distance away... A great tale for the young and young at heart.

From amazon.co.uk on November 15th, 2016

★★★★★You will fall in love with the characters

Reviewed by Family-of-6

The Tree With A Golden Heart, paperback edition

This literary gem stands out among any other book of its sort. You will fall in love with the characters and effortlessly learn about the beauty of coastal Scotland in this endearing tale.

From amazon.co.uk on October 31st, 2016

★★★★★... is a really enjoyable book and it's just as good ( if not better ) than the first

Reviewed by Rachel Gibbons

The Tree With A Golden Heart, paperback edition

It is a really enjoyable book and it's just as good ( if not better ) than the first ,wich was great !

From amazon.co.uk on September 12th, 2016

★★★★★A fantastic book for all ages to share. Recommended!!

Reviewed by D Payne

The Tree With A Golden Heart, paperback edition

I read this book with my 8 year old daughter and we are both Algy fans.

We both really enjoyed this book after reading the first book and it feels like all the characters are our friends.

We look forward to more adventures with Plog, Algy and all our other friends.

Hope they all stay free of Bog Fever!

From amazon.co.uk on July 15th, 2016

★★★★★A great read, for all ages.

Reviewed by Roni

The Tree With A Golden Heart, paperback edition

Algy's second adventure was a nail biting, race against time that kept me on the edge of my seat. Written beautifully with illustrations to match. Can't wait to see what's in store for the Fluffy bird next. :)

From amazon.co.uk on May 10th, 2016

★★★★★Algy. What a Hero!

Reviewed by Nick

The Tree With A Golden Heart, paperback edition

I read this book to my 7 year old son Gabriel. He loved it. It`s the follow-up to 'A Surprisingly Fluffy Bird' which told the story of Algy being washed up in strange land after being lost at sea. Tree with a Golden Heart is a beautiful tale of friendship, illness and adventure.

The author, Jenny Chapman, has a wonderful style of writing which quite literally transports the reader to a far away place of sun, sea, islands, storms and beauty. You`ll think you`ve been there by the time you finish the story!

We are both looking forward to Algy`s next adventure.

From amazon.co.uk on February 23rd, 2016

★★★★★A lovely story for young and old

Reviewed by Mellygregs [verified purchase]

The Tree With A Golden Heart, kindle ebook edition

I read this with my 6 year old boy. He loved it and thought I should give it 10 stars, so was disappointed that I could only give a maximum of 5! He looked forward to bedtime every night!

I asked him why the book deserved full marks he replied....

The story descriptions really put the picture in my mind

It was really exciting. It was very exciting where the laird of the sky was chasing Algy

I liked all the pictures in the book

My favourite character after Algy was Rory the Rabbit

He also said he would recommend the book to his friends to read too.

From amazon.co.uk on February 19th, 2016

★★★★A good book for people who like adventure.

Reviewed by The Wifie

The Tree With A Golden Heart, kindle ebook edition

This book is perfect for children aged 4-11 and is good for people who like an adventure. I read the previous book and I really enjoyed it. When Algy's friend, Plog loses his mind, the only thing that will cure him is the mysterious tree with a golden heart. There were many who had set off to find it but few who accomplished the mission. Algy's loving and determined nature helped him to find the tree and save his friend. My favourite part is when Algy finds the tree and my least favourite part was when it looked looked like Plog was dying.

By Rebekah aged 11.

From amazon.co.uk on February 14th, 2016

★★★★★With love, Nik

Reviewed by Amazon Customer

The Tree With A Golden Heart, paperback edition

Another stunning classic from Jenny Chapman. Enjoyed every word despite being somewhat older than the recommended age range. Beautiful language and illustrations to inspire all with a subtle underlying message on the power of friendship and healing that's much needed in current times.